Rulloff’s: Alpine Burger

004Dish: Alpine Burger
Restaurant: Rulloff’s
Location: Collegetown, Ithaca, NY

Prior to seeing The Perks of Being a Wallflower the other night, my friends and I decided to opt for a traditional burger-and-beer dinner at Rulloff’s in Collegetown.

In general, of the burger joints in Collegetown, I always felt Rulloff’s is the best to go with (though I have yet to try Carriage House’s, where their burgers made with local grass-fed Ithaca beef). Despite how this picture looks, the burgers (well, besides The Monster Burger anyway) are actually not very big at all; the meat patty could easily fit in the palm of my hand.

I went with the Alpine Burger, which had Swiss cheese and mushrooms in addition to lettuce and tomato on the meat patty. I was trying this for the first time (I normally go traditional with the Rulloff’s Burger), and I enjoyed it a lot. The meat patty itself was quite good, and it’s for that reason in general I prefer Rulloff’s burgers over those in Jack’s, which almost always are doused in some sort of sauce. Also, I was happy with the french fries.

As far as a beer, I played it safe and went with a Sam Adams Boston Lager. Lagers in general are good to go with burgers, and Sam Adams is nothing particularly out of the ordinary. Overall, I thought this pairing went pretty nicely. Personally, I make it a point to always go with a beer that’s on tap as opposed to something that comes in a bottle.

Rulloff’s, like The Waiting Room, is a bar-come-restaurant. Needless to say, as my friends and I were eating dinner on a Friday night, the bar was buzzing with activity. The bar has a pretty expansive drink collection with a nice handful of beers on tap, usually with mainstays like Sam Adams and Bud Light while also having one Ithaca Beer Co. beer as well. However, I will say my experiences at Rulloff’s have been better than the one I had at The Waiting Room.

Overall, if you want a burger in Collegetown, you can’t really go wrong with Rulloff’s (as opposed to Stella’s, where you will pay out your nose and Jack’s where you will wait forever for your order).

The verdict: The burger-est burger in Collegetown

3 thoughts on “Rulloff’s: Alpine Burger

  1. Pingback: Ithaca Ale House: Ale House Burger « The American Foodie

  2. Pingback: Bandwagon Brewpub: Half-Pound Grass-fed Burger | The American Foodie

  3. Pingback: Jack’s: Cowboy Burger | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

