Gorgers Subs: Cuban

002Dish: Cuban
Restaurant: Gorgers Subs
Location: Ithaca Commons, Ithaca, NY

It was another one of those lazy nights that my roommate and I decided to go for some food for delivery. We decided to try something new with Gorgers Subs, located on the Commons.

I ordered a Cuban sub, which contained pulled pork, Canadian bacon, pickles, mustard, and mayonnaise. In addition, we ordered an order of fries for the each of us.

When the food arrived at our doorstep, we discovered how large each order of fries was. We wound up sharing one of the containers, and even then were unable to finish it. As for the fries themselves, we agreed that they were a bit salty for our liking. I guess squirting a bit of ketchup would have helped alleviate that, but they were not at all the best fries I have ever eaten.

As for the sub itself, I have to say mine was very good. I don’t think you can really go wrong with a “Cuban” (I have only eaten them at American restaurants, so I am unable to verify their authenticity) sandwich. I happen to like pickles, mustard, and pork a lot, so a sandwich containing that would appeal to me a lot. I had no complaints with the choice of ingredients they used with my sub. I have to reiterate from the review I wrote of the Roxy Melt that I’m always afraid of the bread getting crispy when my sandwich gets toasted. Thankfully, once again that was not the case here.

Overall, Gorgers Subs seems to be a good place to go with if you want delivery without spending a ton of money ($20 between the two of us), and you feel like you want a change from most of the places in Collegetown.

The verdict: The bargainest bargain in Ithaca I have tried so far.

4 thoughts on “Gorgers Subs: Cuban

  1. neil! I will verify the “cuban” sandwich for you in march! hahah also I have been told that in reality Cuban food in Cuban is very blend due to government regulations of food/spices so it is almost nothing like what we have here in the US as “Cuban” food…. but I will let you know when I get back!!!

  2. Pingback: Collegetown Bagels: Havana Breeze | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

