Martha’s Cafe: Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Garlic Flatbread Salad

003Dish: Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Garlic Flatbread Salad
Restaurant: Martha’s Cafe

Location: Martha Van Rensselaer Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

Both based on a recommendation from a friend and as an attempt to eat something reasonably healthy, I decided to check out a flatbread salad at Martha’s Cafe, located in Martha Van Ressalaer Hall on Cornell’s campus. I opted for the Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Garlic Flatbread Salad.

As the name implies, it’s a flatbread with a salad sitting on it. What I ordered had balsamic glazed chicken mixed in spring greens, and was on a flatbread that had garlic cheese curds on it. The salad was topped with a light olive oil vinaigrette.

First, I dug through the salad. I found the salad itself to be nothing particularly out of the ordinary. It was what you would expect out of a salad with grilled chicken mixed into it. The dressing’s flavor didn’t really stand out as I expected, but I saw why when I got to the flatbread.

The flatbread itself was what really stole the show for me. I was wondering what was taking so long for my order to come out, but I then saw it was because the flatbreads were getting freshly baked. As a result, I felt mine was clearly fresh out of the oven. The cheesy curds had a nice strong garlicky flavor, and the Martha’s staff was good enough about being conservative enough with the stuff to not compromise the nutritional value of the meal overall. Still, I would be more than happy to simply eat the flatbread topped with the curds and perhaps some tomatoes.

As soon as I was done eating, I had my doubts as to whether I would stay satisfied until dinner time with just the flatbread salad in my belly. Fortunately, I didn’t feel any hunger pangs until I got home pretty late tonight.

All in all, if you want to eat healthy and happen to be in the neighborhood of the physical sciences/Human Ecology block, a Martha’s flatbread salad is the way to go. You have yet another reason to not bother with a Statler salad.

The verdict: The best-est best healthy food I have eaten on campus so far

2 thoughts on “Martha’s Cafe: Balsamic Chicken with Roasted Garlic Flatbread Salad

  1. Pingback: Where to Go For Lunch on Cornell’s Campus | The American Foodie

  2. Pingback: Terrace Restaurant: Salad | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

