2010 Robert Mondavi Chardonnay

IMG_0727We follow up our review of the 2012 Meiomi Pinot Noir with one of another California wine, this time one of the 2010 Robert Mondavi Chardonnay, which was selected to go with quesadillas that my friends and I were having for dinner last night.

I will tell you right now that in general, I prefer reds over whites, and Chardonnay actually ranks among my less preferred wines. However, as any budding oenophile should know, Robert Mondavi is an extremely renowned name in the world of wine.

Oddly enough, the aroma of the wine reminds me of cheese, as Chardonnays tend to do. I detect very little fruit on the nose, and the aroma isn’t a particularly strong one.

While the smell reminded me of cheese, the taste reminded me of butter. Chardonnays tend to be drier in general (I personally prefer sweeter whites), and this Robert Mondavi Chardonnay was the driest wine I had in a while. It went well with our quesadilla last night. Now that I’m tasting it by itself, what I would recommend pairing it with is a nice grilled fish (like cod), topped with some butter and lemon juice. In general, it would go nicely with fish, poultry, and cheeses that are less potent (like American or a weak cheddar).

To reiterate, I’m really not a fan of Chardonnay. However, if you’re about to make something for dinner that where it’s advised that you pair it with a Chardonnay, I would definitely suggest giving this 2010 Robert Mondavi Chardonnay a try. I don’t like Chardonnays very much, but I did like this Robert Mondavi one a lot.

The verdict: The bestest best Chardonnay I have had recently

One thought on “2010 Robert Mondavi Chardonnay

  1. Pingback: 2007 Trimbach Riesling | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

