Maxie’s Supper Club and Oyster Bar: Damn Good Fish-Fry

IMG_0753Dish: Damn Good Fish-Fry
Restaurant: Maxie’s Supper Club and Oyster Bar
Location: Downtown Ithaca, NY

I wanted go out somewhere new and nice for dinner tonight. After reading good things on Yelp!, I decided to give Maxie’s Supper Club and Oyster Bar, a southern-style seafood establishment, a try.

For an appetizer, we went with the grilled shrimp skewers. The shrimp was coated with a IMG_0752chipotle honey sauce, which give the shrimp an attractive, subtly spicy kick to it. The skewers came with a slaw that was dressed in vinegar, which provided a flavor that nicely balanced the chipotle honey shrimp.

My main course was what was called the Damn Good Fish-Fry, an American version of classic British fish-and-chips. It was beer-battered fish (tonight, the fish in question was haddock) served with french fries (NOT British chips, as my British university-educated lady friend pointed out) and a side of cole slaw. What was proper though was that the waiter provided me with a bottle of vinegar with which to flavor my fries, and I used that in lieu of ketchup, despite there being a handy bottle at our table.

White fish in general don’t tend to have very strong flavor, and haddock was no exception. It’s for that reason the fish came with a handy cup of tartar sauce. The batter had a very nice crunch to it and the french fries were delicious. I will say that I don’t recommend the Ithaca Beer Co. Cascazilla as the flavor of the beer will overpower the fish; an English brown ale would be more appropriate.

Despite that though, I did feel considering the meal, the tab was just a tad steep. Fish-and-chips is supposed to be quintessential economic deliciousness in Britain, so paying $15.50 like my friend did (she was good enough to cover our tab) is a little odd. In general, from what I saw on the menu, you will need to be prepared to shell some bills out when coming here to eat. I felt like I could get food of similar quality at establishments like Kilpatrick’s around in Ithaca, or possibly better in Bandwagon Brewpub, for less money.

Overall, while I had a pleasant dining experience with good food and very good service, I have a hard time recommending Maxie’s to Cornell students because it’s a little expensive and it is pretty far away from campus, pretty much limiting access to those who have a car.

The verdict: The fishiest fish-and-chips meal I have had

Leave a Reply

