Mahogany Grill: 10oz Prime Sirloin

IMG_0786Dish: 10oz Prime Sirloin
Restaurant: Mahogany Grill
Location: Ithaca Commons, Ithaca, NY

My friend’s parents were up to visit him here in Ithaca. They were good enough to invite me for dinner, and I joined in. I was surprised to see the locale was Mahogany Grill because I have never been there myself before, the reason being that it is easily one of the most expensive places in Ithaca.

My friend’s dad is a real wine enthusiast, so I let him pick a wine out, and he in turn turned to the waitress. She suggested the 2010 Emblem Cabarnet Sauvignon from Napa Valley, since we were planning to eat steak for dinner tonight.

On the nose, the Cabarnet had very jammy aromas, with distinct red fruits. I remember a very strong cherry in the aroma. Upon tasting, it was quite spicy. However, more of the subtleties became apparent when I tasted the wine after having a mouthful of steak.

The 10oz Prime Sirloin is a steak that eats up a very small area on the plate, but is extremely think. It comes wrapped in a strip of bacon. It came with a broiled tomato provencal. I went with the suggested setup, with asparagus and soft-shell crab legs.IMG_0787

I could tell the beef was grassfed upon biting into it. That was because it was very tough, despite the fact that I ordered it medium-rare. That was indicative that there was no fat marbling the beef, and thus the poor cow wasn’t morbidly obese as a result of the factory farming practices it was subject to. With that in mind, I can say it was the best cut of beef I have had in a very long time.

I also had their homemade bearnaise on the side. However, I used it sparingly. In my opinion, the best meats, especially steak, don’t need any sauce to add flavor. I tended to let the flavor of the beef itself fill up my mouth.

Basically, I can sum this sirloin up as one of the best steaks I have ever eaten in my entire life, and the Emblem was easily one of the best wines I have ever had. Despite the fact that cost is not always an indicator of quality, I can say it is because both the steak and the wine were among the most expensive I have ever had. Needless to say, it is a bit steep compared to what your average student would be able to afford. Despite that, I would recommend with every ounce of my being that you save some money up, and take that special woman (or guy) out here and give this steak (which was $26, and actually one of the cheaper items on the menu) a try.

The verdict: The bestest best steak I have eaten in my life

2 thoughts on “Mahogany Grill: 10oz Prime Sirloin

  1. Pingback: How to make the perfect steak? | MrHairyBrit - Hairy Man of Youtube

  2. Pingback: Simeon’s: Kobe Meatloaf | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

