The State Street Diner: Two Eggs and Corned Beef Hash

photo 1Dish: Two Eggs and Corned Beef Hash
Restaurant: The State Street Diner
Location: Ithaca, NY

I decided to go down to Wegman’s to do my grocery shopping. It made sense to me to grab breakfast on the way at The State Street Diner, on West State Street past the Commons, as I had been there before and had a good experience.

I did nothing fancy: I ordered two eggs (eggs come with toast and coffee) with a side of corned beef hash. It was simple, yet tasty, and I felt the portion was quite generous. The corned beef hash was salty, but it was salty in a way that appealed to me.

As it is just eggs, toast, and corned beef hash, there isn’t really a lot I can say about the food itself. However, what I will talk about is the quality of the service I got, and it was absolutely terrific.

As soon as I walked in, the staff at the diner jumped to help me, even though the restaurant was quite busy. I placed my order and my food came out within a few minutes. The main thing the staff at The State Street Diner had which I feel like those in most places in Collegetown (especially in Stella’s) lack is a sense of urgency. I remember once ordering a simple breakfast of eggs and toast at Stella’s. A dish that would’ve taken me two minutes to make took twenty to come out to me.

As I said, coffee is included in your order of eggs. Did I mention you get endless refills of coffee? The best part is the wait staff cruises around, and as soon as they see your cup isn’t all the way full, they’ll top it off without you needing to ask.photo 2

In general, I think what happened to The State Street Diner is by being away from Collegetown (ie a place conveniently located by campus with a lot of rich students), they are at a subprime location, and thus they need to worry more about giving quality service in order to get business. Not only did I get decent food with great service, but I paid a little over half what I would’ve paid for a comparable breakfast at Stella’s. For that reason, I would recommend students, particularly those with a car, to not bother going to Stella’s for weekend brunch and go to The State Street Diner instead.

The verdict: The best-est best breakfast place in Ithaca

2 thoughts on “The State Street Diner: Two Eggs and Corned Beef Hash

  1. Pingback: So You’re a Cornellian Who Wants to Eat Breakfast… | The American Foodie

  2. Pingback: Granite Street Cafe: Irish Chef Special | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

