Scholar’s: Organic Grass-Fed Burger

IMG_1474Dish: Organic Grass-Fed Burger
Restaurant: Scholar’s
Location: North End, Boston, MA

I found myself at Scholar’s in Boston’s North End this past weekend. I decided to get myself a decent burger for the first time in a while; that one time I went to McDonald’s a couple weeks ago doesn’t count.

I ordered the organic grass-fed burger with cheddar cheese and a fried egg. The burger came with a cinnamon tomato jam, and that’s what stuck out to me. It was a nice, spicy-sweet flavor that complemented the beef nicely. I would never have thought of putting a sweet sauce on a burger, but it worked very well on this one. The beef itself was of very high quality. It was very juicy. The fries were nice and soft.

Scholar’s is a nice, classic American restaurant-cum-bar. The service was very good, and the ambiance was classy. It seems like exactly the place that’s competing for the money of people working in the area. Scholar’s is very close to the Downtown Crossing T stop and is also a stone’s throw away from Boston’s Financial District. It’s a prime location to attract local professionals. Despite that, I felt the meal was very reasonably priced. The burger was $15; the burger itself is $13 while the fried egg added another $2. It was in the same spirit as Circa at DuPont in Washington, DC’s DuPont Circle. While the burger was one of the less expensive items on the menu, relative to other meals I’ve had in Boston, it’ll more easily fit in a guy’s budget.

Scholar’s is a venue I would definitely feel good about hosting a company event at. It’s nice and quiet and just has a very nice American look to it. In fact, it’s a place I could easily imagine bringing both just a special woman in my life and a group of my friends. Scholar’s is classy yet feels nice and general-purpose. I have a hard time saying anything to deter you away from here.

The verdict: The widest wide restaurant I’ve been to as of yet

One thought on “Scholar’s: Organic Grass-Fed Burger

  1. Pingback: Cornwall’s: London Burger | The American Foodie

Leave a Reply

