Lo Conte’s: Saltinbocca

IMG_1503Dish: Saltinbocca
Restaurant: Lo Conte’s
Location: North End, Boston, MA

I’ve been looking for an excuse to try some of the Italian food in the North End of Boston. One of my friends from Cornell was in the area for a job interview, and we decided to grab dinner together last night.

Originally, we were going to go to La Famiglia Giorgio’s. Upon seeing the line in front of the restaurant, we spontaneously went to Lo Conte’s, which was next door.

For dinner, I had the Saltinbocca, which was veal sauteed with mushrooms and spinach in a white wine sauce and topped with prosciutto and mozzarella cheese. With the non-pasta entrees, Lo Conte’s serves a small bowl of penne in tomato sauce.

The sauce was pleasantly citrusy as a result of the white wine and the lemon juice. The veal was very nice and tender while the prosciutto added just the right amount of salt to the dish. The cheese was nice and creamy.

I couldn’t help but notice the penne I had on the side was a hair overcooked as it wasn’t quite al dente when I bit into it. I’ll write it off as a minor oversight. I tried a bit of my friend’s lasagna, and that thing was cooked to perfection.

Lo Conte’s had a very classic atmosphere. Almost everything had a wooden finish, and the restaurant was rather dimly lit. As it is an Italian restaurant in the North End, the food is not cheap. My dish was $22. Like many other restaurants, the real moneymaker is the wine. My friend and I had a $36 Chianti; Chiantis are my go-to whenever I eat Italian. Other restaurants have much wider wine selections, but I was very happy with the 2012 Donna Laura Chianti I had last night. I would definitely say Lo Conte’s is a good place to save up for if you’re looking for a place to go with that special woman in your life.

As an aficionado of Italian cuisine, I’m glad the North End exists. You will find lots of Italian restaurants right next to each other. I’m excited to try some more in the area.

The verdict: The Italian-est Italian I’ve had in a while.

Leave a Reply

