Salem A&B: Nick’s BBQ Burger

Note the fry spillage...

Note the fry spillage…

Dish: Nick’s BBQ Burger
Restaurant: Salem A&B
Location: Salem, MA

I was in Salem for the Halloween festivities. I decided that I was hell-bent on trying a burger at Salem A&B.

Right off the bat, I found myself waiting for 45 minutes to be seated. As people from all over were in Salem, Salem A&B found itself barely able to keep up with demand for seating and food.

Even after I was seated, the food took another solid half hour before it came out. Once my food did arrive, the waitress unceremoniously spilled some of my fries onto the table, apologized, and then just left never to be seen again.

As for the burger itself, it was topped with cheese, fried onions, and a pumpkin barbecue sauce. The barbecue sauce was what I liked most, adding a pleasantly sweet flavor to the burger.

The burger was simple and the beef was nice, but the experience was a little anticlimactic. I know I wouldn’t wait nearly as long had I come on an off-season. Also, Salem is a bit out of my way, so I’m unlikely to even be there off-season.

I’ll admit the reason I fought through the wait was that I decided to follow the logic of a typical Cornell student: If the wait is long, then what you’re waiting for has to be awesome, right?

Overall, if you live in Salem, it’s probably worth checking out as a casual burger joint (provided it’s not October). If you’re like me and live all the way in the Boston area (particularly in the South Shore), then don’t bother going out of your way for Salem A&B.

The verdict: Not really the witchest witch burger I’ve ever eaten

One thought on “Salem A&B: Nick’s BBQ Burger

  1. Pingback: Spooks in Salem | Neil After Cornell

Leave a Reply

