New American Cafe: Muffaletta Wrap

010Dish: Muffaletta Wrap
Restaurant: New American Cafe
Location: Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, MA

It’s been a while since I’ve last posted on this blog! I’ve been in a bit of a slump. Ever since I left Cornell, readership has been a bit low. Then, I decided that I will be making a trip to Japan in March! In preparation for my series of posts in Japan, I decided that I have one hobby in common with James Bond: 

I have also begun taking a painting class taking place in Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts. As I got to the museum a bit early, I decided to grab a quick dinner at the New American Cafe.

I decided to go for the Muffaletta Wrap, which is basically a classic Italian wrap with ham, salami, banana peppers, Kalamata olives, and provolone cheese. It came with a side of chips and a pickle.

The wrap was exactly what you would expect. It was a nice cold cut sandwich alternative. The banana peppers and Kalamata olives gave the wrap a nice tang for an otherwise nothing out of the ordinary wrap. The chips were crisp and the pickle helped clean my pallet (yes, the art puns may begin here).

The trouble is that this meal cost me $15 excluding tax and tip. Considering how much I paid, I was disappointed in the meal’s substance. I could’ve gotten a comparable meal elsewhere for half the price. Naturally, it’s being in the MFA that really drives the price of the food up. I’m terrified what would’ve happened if this restaurant was in the Metropolitan Museum of Art instead; everything becomes stupidly expensive as soon as they’re in Manhattan. I guess the air there has magic so you need to pay for the privilege of breathing it; did anyone else notice how Amtrak tickets are $60 from Boston to New York, but $79 from Boston to Washington, DC?

Granted, if I had an MFA membership (which I still need to get), the meal would’ve come down to $12.75. I still feel that price tag is a bit steep.

Overall, I have a hard time recommending New American Cafe for any reason besides you absolutely cannot leave the museum. There isn’t much around there since the museum is practically surrounded by Northeastern University. Otherwise, I’d suggest hopping the T back to Park Street and connect to a train that will take you to another part of Boston with better options.

The verdict: The most pretentiously pretentious art food ever

Leave a Reply

