Chistopher’s: Three-Cheese Ravioli

014Dish: Three-Cheese Ravioli
Restaurant: Christopher’s
Location: Porter Square, Cambridge, MA

Last night, I hosted a meet up for the Japanese English Language Club Meetup.com group at Christopher’s. After a stressful week at work, I decided I wanted some beer, so that was part of the reason I picked a location that served it.

Admittedly, the restaurant didn’t make the greatest impression on me when I first arrived. I made a reservation for 7:00pm last night, but our table was nowhere near ready at that time. There was another party ahead of us occupying the table the restaurant was going to give us. The best part? The restaurant staff straight up told me they didn’t know when our table would be ready. We weren’t seated until 7:30.

The good news was that it went more smoothly from there on out.

For dinner, I ordered the pasta special, which was a three-cheese ravioli served with mushrooms and spinach in a creamy tomato sauce.

I’m a sucker for creamy tomato pasta sauces. Naturally, the sauce was very rich, but it wasn’t as rich as the Alfredo I had at Amrheins. The pasta wasn’t quite al dente, but it wasn’t overcooked either. I can’t expect a whole lot more from a non-Italian place serving pasta.

016In apologizing for the long wait time, Christopher’s was good enough to give us a complimentary dessert! For that, I decided to go with the chocolate molten cake.

It was exactly what a molten cake should be like. It was a chocolate cake with a (relatively) hard exterior and a nice, gooey inside. The cake was topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

The chocolate was warm and semi-sweet, and it was complemented by the cold and sweet ice cream. The molten cake did everything it was supposed to, and I will go so far as to say that dessert was the best part of dinner last night.

Admittedly, I’m a little ambivalent as far as what to say about Christopher’s overall. One one hand, I thought the food was decent and reasonably priced; while I wasn’t paying for dessert, dinner, a beer, and a cocktail came out to about $29 overall. It wasn’t like certain other places like 49 Social that really nail you on drinks. On the other, when I make a reservation at 7, I expect to get seated either at 7 or very soon after and not have to wait half an hour. The restaurant was very busy and clearly somewhat understaffed. Basically, I think Christopher’s is a good place to check out if you’re in the general area of Porter Square and are showing up at an off-peak time, which is to say not a Friday evening.

The verdict: The chocolatey-est chocolatey molten cake I’ve had in a long time.

Leave a Reply

