Fried Rice My Way

Fried rice is in general one of my favorite comfort foods. Here I’ll show you my prescribed way of making it, which I’m sure the good people of China would never imagine eating.

What you’ll need:

  • 1-1/2 pound chicken thighs
  • 3/4 cup rice (cooked)
  • 4 spring onions
  • 1 onion
  • 1 bell pepper (whatever color you want)
  • 1/8 cup shredded carrots
  • Small handful of mushrooms
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1-1/2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1-1/2 tbsp sesame oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tbsp samba olek chili paste
  • Vegetable oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Unfold the thighs. Season your chicken nicely with salt and pepper and dredge it in flour.

001

Chop your mushrooms, bell peppers, onions, carrots, and spring onions and leave them aside. I personally prefer keeping them in bowls, arranged by approximately when they will be dropped into the pan.

002

Heat up a thin layer of vegetable oil in a frying pan. Sautee your chicken until cooked through. It’s perfectly acceptable to cut it open to check for doneness as the chicken will be cut into strips.

004

Once the chicken is fully cooked, cut it into strips and set it aside for now.

005

Heat some oil in a large nonstick pot. When the oil is screaming hot, drop your mushrooms in and sautee until browned.

006Next, drop in the onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Sautee these vegetables until the onions are translucent. At this juncture, I beat my eggs, pour that in, and give the mixture a nice stir. Finally, I put in the carrots and spring onions.

008

Next put in your rice. In general, it’s recommended that you use rice that’s about a day old. I used jasmine rice, but I would suggest using long-grain rice instead. Break the clumps of rice as you go. Once the rice has been broken down, thoroughly mix it with your vegetables and eggs. At that point, pour in the soy sauce and sesame oil and a generous bit of pepper and stir thoroughly. The fried rice should be coated evenly.

011

Since I’m of Indian descent, I like being hit right in the face with flavor. To that end, I made up my own hot sauce. I just stir in a tablespoon of ketchup and samba olek chili paste.

Finally, stir in the chicken you cooked earlier.

012

Bon appetit!

013

Leave a Reply

