An American Foodie in Japan: Cure Maid: Beef Curry

Dish: Beef Curry
Restaurant: Cure Maid
Location: Akihabara, Chiyoda, Tokyo, Japan

And this is probably the post everyone wanted to read: my experience in an Akihabara maid cafe.

I first need to explain the absence of any photos. Photography was pretty strictly prohibited at Cure Maid, and I believe that to be the case with most, if not all, maid cafes. Just to be on the safe side, I didn’t even snap a photo of the curry I ate.

Besides that, the experience wasn’t really anything to write home about. It may be because of the specific maid cafe I went to, but Cure Maid was basically just a normal restaurant where the wait staff just happened to be dressed in maid-style dresses that went all the way down to their ankles.

I’m sure many of you have heard stories about Akihabara. Most of them are true, except for at least this one maid cafe. It was a gimmick I found mildly amusing at best. A couple tables away, there were four college-aged women eating, which further leads me to believe Cure Maid wasn’t a place for people who are just there to ogle waitresses dressed in maid costumes.

Oh and the beef curry was quite good.

Leave a Reply

